I’ve missed you. I’ve been spending a lot of my time the last two weeks soaking up the sun at the beach or pool. The only downfall to being so relaxed is that my brain goes on pause. So-not much writing going on except what I do for the online classes I teach.

Today, I want to share a few words about the best teacher I ever had. Sister Lucy, who was an English professor at the University of Louisville, and a fantastic and vibrant woman and teacher. She died recently, after a long and productive life. She taught so that her students would be better in every way.

When she returned a graded paper in our professional writing class, she would have written almost as much as I had. In purple ink-I never used a red pin again. She was the kind of teacher who told me what I had done right, and how I could improve.

I learned to appreciate feedback. No matter how much I loved the work I had done, I knew I could always do better. And, I knew Sister Lucy would guide me in the right direction, if I wanted to go there.

Did I mention that she was the ‘hardest’ teacher I ever had? I know that if I am challenged, then I must be working hard at being successful.

I feel a need to thank her for being so intelligent, caring and creative, and for using these gifts and nurturing others.

Let’s never forget those special people in our lives who mentor us, especially in writing and the realities of life.

May she rest in the presence of God.

 

